MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 04-09-2002, 12:00 PM
sherpa1d

Stock Removal Knife - Steel Recommendation and Heat treating

Obiously I'm new to knife making... I'm doing the three step method - Making kits first, then doing some stock removal, then on to forging. I've done the kit deal and had fun so I'm on to a few practice blades. I've done them out of whatever scrap I can get from work, just practicing the actual process since I don't know what I have my hands on.

I know everyone has their own preferance of steel and heat treating for both removal and forging. I've read a lot about 5160 for forging and a lot of differnet methods of heat treating.

First, is 5160 a good steel for stock removal. I'll be doing mid sized knives for hunting and skinning.

And in all of my readings on the interent in all of the differnet kinds of heat treating, most of the time they don't go into detale on how they got to the heat treating stage, removal or forging. Plus I know part of forging includes heat treating.

So now that I have rambled for so long, can someone point me in the right general direction, maybe a good web site. I know some personnal preferance will be involved in everyone's responce and I'm not trying to start a discussion on what everyone sees as the correct method, just trying to get started.

Thanks
Old 04-09-2002, 12:44 PM
Raymond Richard

Re: Stock Removal Knife - Steel Recommendation and Heat trea

Any steel that can be forged you can also do stock removal with. The main thing is finding the stock you want to use. Most that do stock removal go with 440C or ATS34, one of the main reason is the choice in material sizes and thicknesses.