MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 01-16-2004, 05:25 PM
Guru

Stock Removal and Heat Treating

Ok, I know that this will likely sound very silly to some of you, but please don't be too harsh. I just ordered 10 feet of 1084 from admiral steel, and when it gets here I'll be trying my hand at my first blades. I'm just a poor college student, I don't have a big place or a shop, and I plan to do most of my knife making outside with a few files, a dremel tool, and my brother inlaw's drill press.

The steel that comes from admiral is already anealed, which is a great thing for me when it comes to shaping and drilling, as I don't have a forge. However, it is not such a great thing for me as I don't *think* that there is any way for me to heat treat it... as far as I can tell from what I've read on Bob Warner's site, and the Engath website, and here, and anywhere else I can find, I have to heat my steel up around 1600 degrees, quench it, and then heat treat it around 425. Is there any way I can heat treat my anealed steel without a forge?

If I have to, I'll spend the money to make a propane forge and stick it in the neighbor's backyard, but I didn't want to do that until I was a little more confident in my ability to make a decent knife. On Bob's site he mentions that a forge is something you want to invest in if you can stick it out past a dozen or so knives, I plan to, but I'd like the first dozen to have a good edge too...
Old 01-16-2004, 05:46 PM
Skilled

Greetings nameless young person!