MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 07-20-2014, 12:40 AM
Enthusiast

Dust Collection System

In the next few days I plan on posting some pics of my shop in progress for feedback. Its modest, like many I cannot at this point in life build what I really want.....but I am doing my best. Being the consummate reader and researcher by profession, so many questions have answers for the taking (balancing) that I need not ask many basics.

However.....

I am wiring my "shop" for an external air compressor and dust collection system. The air compressor I have figured out mostly, but dust collection I am at a loss. I have two dedicated circuits wired for each device, 240 on a 30 amp breaker for the dust collection system (10/2) and 240 50 amp for the compressor (6/3).

My main "shop" is a building that is 14x24 and I am doing my best not to have redundant tools. I think that my main need for dust collection will be one main grinder (TW-90 I am thinking now) but I will have other tools that would benefit from dust collection if I plumbed duct.

Given this, is there any grand wisdom at Knife Network about dust collection systems given my power capacity or limitations as it were? I am a "buy once, cry once" kinda guy so I want something that works well, is expandable, and just might be overkill. The woodworking forums are full of confusion on this topic and unusually I have not hit upon a good solution at this point as there are many options out there.

I live in Montana and this particular area will be sealed up tighter than a squirrel sphincter (just for you Ray) much of the year. The smithy is adjacent.

Any advice? Thanks in advance.
Old 07-20-2014, 08:38 AM