MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-02-2016, 09:55 PM

New, working with D2

I have no qualifications as a knifemaker but would like to finish a couple blades. I'm a woodworker and have many tools that might work but my sander is a Delta unit with a 12" plate and 6" by 24 belt. I have a bench grinder and drill press as well.
Anyway, I have been practicing some simple file work on soft steel bars and thought to do it on a blade. I ordered a D2 prefinished blade which will R about 60-61 and I realize that is much harder than what I am using. Will I be able to file that blade?
I also have a foredom hand grinder if you think that would work.
Any thoughts or suggestions would be warmly received.
Thanks and best wishes.
Old 12-02-2016, 10:51 PM
Skilled

sorry but youre likely out of luck. file work is something you do before heat treating.
as for using the flexshaft...... that's a good way to slip and screw up quickly. when you get around to making your own blade, a chainsaw file, and a 3 square with one side sanded down smooth will get you where you need.

as a first though id suggest something easier to work with than D2.
Old 12-03-2016, 02:26 AM
Guru