MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 01-26-2009, 08:55 PM
Steel Addict

Arbor press and name stamp?

I bought a name stamp. The results I am getting with it are less that spectacular. I called the company back and talked to a guy. He said, oh that stamp is too big and that font is not good for marking. I said, well thats great, why did they send me that, I told them I was a newbie. He said, oh yea, we will remake it for you. Yea, and pigs are gonna fly sometime soon. I never got the new stamp. Surprise!

Any way, could an arbor press be used to press the stamp into the O-1 steel? Anyone got any other ideas? I hate to waste $90.00. That would buy a lot of steel and micarta .

Thanks in advance for your advise.
Cal
Old 01-26-2009, 08:57 PM
Steel Addict

call them back and complain. that's just bad business

http://outwestblades.com
Old 01-27-2009, 01:08 AM
Steel Addict

You left a some important info out that will allow people to give you some advice, for example what size hammer are you using, how big is the stamp, and how are you attempting to mark the steel. I assume you are trying to stamp the steel before it is hardened, if not you might as well forget it. Practice on some scrap steel until you get it to mark the way you want.

You can try a larger hammer, say a 3 or 4 lb maul, make sure the support under the blade is solid and has sufficient mass that it wont move or bounce, for example an anvil. If you still aren't happy with the mark you get you can chuck the stamp in an arbor press, hold some tension down on the stamp against the blade with the press and whack the top of the press shaft with the maul.
Old 01-27-2009, 06:37 AM
Master