MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Tool Time

Tool Time Let's talk shop. Equipment, Tips & Tricks, Safety issues - Post it here.

Old 12-28-2003, 04:18 PM

ryobi bandsaw, should I return it?

Hi all,
I am a little new to all of this, but have been building kit knives for a while and slowly adding equipment to my shop. I currently have a 16" scroll saw, a buffer/polishing setup, belt/disk sander, tabletop drill press, and I just got a ryobi band saw for christmas. I am a little dissapointed in the lack of control I have when cutting slabs out of blocks of wood. the blade seems to bend and flex and I can't cut a straight line. is there something that I am doing wrong in the setup? it seems to me that the scroll saw can do everything that the bandsaw can do, just a little slower, and with more precision. shoud I take it back? if so what piece of equipment do you recommend I replace it with? and those of you with band saws was it the primary use that you put it to?
thanks
Mike in MD
Old 12-28-2003, 05:07 PM
Steel Addict

Send a message via AIM to MJ Hofbauer
If you are referring to that 9" bandsaw, they are pretty much a piece of junk. No mini-bandsaw really performs at all well. I'd strongly recommend getting a full sized one. Mini's tend to always have tracking problems, not to mention they are under powered for most situations. If you plan to keep it two things to note on 'flexing', one, make sure to lower the guide down to an 1/8" or so above the work you are cutting. It helps to add stability. Two is the blade you are using, quality and size of the blade matters, mind you I don't know any quality blades for that size saw. If space is a problem, I guess they can be used but I wouldn't use one myself. -MJ
Old 12-28-2003, 07:22 PM

it looked good at home depot