MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Damascus Forum

The Damascus Forum The art and study of Damascus steel making.

Old 11-12-2004, 11:13 AM
Skilled

Send a message via ICQ to sjaqua
1st attempt a Mosaic Pattern

As the subject says, this is my first attempt at a mosaic pattern damascus. What follows is the first work in progress photo of the completed welded bar. This is all being done with my "Arm Strong powered" hammer. So I wanted to pick a simple pattern that could be done with just layerd bars.

The material is 1084 and 15N20.

I will next be doing an acordian cut at my bandsaw. With luck my welds are as good in the middle of the bar as they are on the ends (I cut both ends clean to check). I course polished and lightly etched one end to see my pattern.

If all turns out well I'll post more photos in this thread later on.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The most important right of all, is that of Free Speech. With out that, all your other rights will soon be taken away. So, I may disagree with what you say, but I will defend until death, your right to say it!
Old 11-12-2004, 11:35 AM
Living Legend

Cool, Scott! It's looking good!

Knowing you did that by hand makes me glad I have a press!
Old 11-12-2004, 10:46 PM
Super Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Ed Caffrey Send a message via Yahoo to Ed Caffrey
Wonderful! Once you get that billet opened up and into a blade you might as well give up.....once your there the sickness is incurable! You'll be waking up at night thinking of cool new patterns to build........and wishing you had a notebook by the bed so you don't forget.

Make sure you post some pics of the blade(s) that come out of that beauty!

Caffreyknives@gmail.com