MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 09-26-2016, 08:58 PM
Registered

Power Tools for the Beginner

Hello and thanks in advance for the replies. I am brand new to this, meaning I'm only in the interest and research phase. I've cleared a work space and am looking to buy a table-mounted belt sander and drill press. I have researched different tools until my eyes bleed, but haven't yet come up with a good beginner's option. There are SO many conflicting reviews on the different brands/models/sizes. I am willing to spend, preferably, no more than $500 for both. I don't need top of the line (obviously) but I also do not want junk. I'm willing to go a bit up or down on price if the difference in quality is justifiable. Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!
Old 09-26-2016, 09:23 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Any belt sander you buy that isn't a 2x72" will be a stop gap measure. There are a few other sanders that guys manage to use for a while but sooner or later it has to be a 2x72". If you're a handy type you can build your own, plans are available. If you buy, a Grizzly is where most guys start.

A good drill press isn't cheap but you can get by at first with a cheapie.

And, of course, there's always the possibility of finding something used.

It might be wise to start simply with files and sand paper. You'll need them eventually anyway and you'll need the skills that come from using them. Maybe build a few kit knives first, good way to find out if you really need to spend more money. Knife making is not a cheap hobby ...

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 09-26-2016, 11:01 PM
Guru

$500 max then? OK