MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 02-11-2007, 10:49 AM

Send a message via AIM to huj
Talking oven help

Im a noob to the knifemaking world and i want to heat treat my knife so i want to make my own small wood buring oven to do it in and i just want to tips and ideas, all will be appreciated thanx
Old 02-11-2007, 11:19 AM
Hall of Famer

Hi huj,

Use the search option and look up "one brick forge" "micro forge" and "brake drum forge" and you should find a lot of threads discussing these topics. Also read the sticky's at the top of the Newbies Arena. Lots of good reading there too. Good luck!
Old 02-11-2007, 12:54 PM

thanx
Old 02-11-2007, 01:04 PM

i got alot of extra bricks around the back yard so i would prefer to make one out of brick
Old 02-11-2007, 01:20 PM
Steel Addict

Check out the blueprints section of iforgeiron.com

What kind of brick do you have?
It makes a difference.

My forge is made from a weber bbq grill lined with wood ash and an air pipe run through to the fire pit.

http://rpaynecreations.weebly.com/
Old 02-11-2007, 02:58 PM

i just have regular house bricks
Old 02-11-2007, 03:32 PM

also i need some advice on how to hold the knife in the fire
Old 02-11-2007, 05:34 PM
Hall of Famer

Question small wood burning oven

Could you expand on the wood burning oven, is this something that you already have or is it something that you want to build?