MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 08-01-2016, 10:46 AM
Enthusiast

bulky bolster material

Hi guy's,
Let me introduce myself. I am new to knife making. Made 3 knifes before. That's some time ago. I like all sorts of knifes. High performance blades really get me off. I like damascus and japanese blades at the moment. I live in the Netherlands...

I like to make a chef knife with a stainless steel bolster as in the picture below. I can get bolster material through my supplier but it's only 0.196 inch thick only. Could I just get any piece of stainless and soften it to work with? Will I be able to heat treat it with a torch after fitting the tang?

Thanks in advance!

Man! This guy knows how to design a knife!
That's just an incredibly good looking piece of art...
Old 08-01-2016, 01:42 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

If you buy new steel it will already be as soft as it will get. If you get stainless that is already hardened a torch will not do a really good job of softening it though it will get somewhat softer. You cannot harden stainless properly with a torch.

For my tastes, .196 would be more than thick enough. But, if you want more then just use two pieces (or three) . You could put a contrasting spacer between the pieces ....

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 08-01-2016, 03:24 PM
Guru

http://usaknifemaker.com/knife-blade...s-c-93-35.html

on that link look for either 410 or 416 stainless they have both thicker than.196
or

http://www.knifemaking.com/category-s/778.htm