MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 10-12-2004, 12:02 AM
Registered

new to custom knives

well i am new to all of this but i have been interested in making my own knives forever so i figured it was about time i started, a few things i wanted to know ... i hear alot about heat treating your knives well i dont got the equipment to do that.. what do the people without the equipment to heat treat usually do? is there a place to bring them or is there another way to do it without that special oven also what is the purpose of heat treating? would my knife be ok if i didnt do it?. i wanted to get into throwing knives so i figured id start out making a few throwing knives im guessing there pretty simple and straight forward so a good place to start, i have acouple pieces of thick enough steel for a knife laying around i got no idea what kind of steel it is its been laying outside for awhile and needs some cleaning up would this be ok to start making my first knife or should i just go get some proper steel. i got no idea what to get so if someone could fill me in that would be great keep in mind i dont need a show piece ill be tossing it around alot any links to information i should read or any additional advice would be great
Old 10-12-2004, 03:30 AM
Master

Talking

if you are not able to heat treat a blade yourself then you can have a local heat treat company do it for you or send it out to a mail order heat treater. if you need contact info for some heat treaters that specialize in knives myself or another maker will happily supply it.