MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 06-28-2019, 07:36 AM

First Knife is finished

So I'm new to this and obviously this knife isn't the greatest in the world. I'm simply over the moon that it turned out better than an African prison shank.

So I'm not looking to be some manufacturer or anything special or great... I'm simply just wanting to make a few knives for myself and maybe a couple of hunting pals.

Comments and criticism is welcome.

Old 06-28-2019, 09:43 AM

Mechanics aren't bad, a bad user shape at all. Now you need to make more and focus on the finish issues. Lots of new makers have trouble with finish such as the deep scratches and even plunge cuts at the choil area, etc. That's the "grunt" work on any knife you will make. Getting rid of these takes a good bit of patience and practice.
Don't get caught up in the gotta get more done and gotta use better materials land slides. They suck in a lot of new makers. Stick with simple and get it right until it's a natural thing to do so. The other bling and numbers issues will catch up fast enough.
Welcome to the addiction.

Registered Master Artist - GA Council for the Arts
C Rex Custom Knives

Blade Show Table 6-H
Old 06-28-2019, 01:42 PM
Master

Good job!

Getting the hand sanding down will come. Once you've acquainted yourself to getting coarse grit out, you'll be able to consistently achieve a uniform finish on your works. I can't say they become any easier, you'll acquire the skills to become more efficient so the work time becomes shorter. Get your sanding blocks shaped so that doing these tasks doesn't create additional hand fatigue or stress the finger joints.

Nick Wheeler has some nice videos: