MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 10-30-2014, 09:39 AM
Master

your cutting edge and grit to get there........

I'm sure this is on here somewhere......

so your knife is complete, your sheath is done and it's time to put a cutting edge on your blade...
(if you do it in that order)

what's your method ?

jig ? files ? free hand ? stones ? belts ? tormak ? other ?

what angle ? degree ?

curious how each differ from getting their cutting edge

Old 10-30-2014, 09:55 AM
Skilled

I'm a newb but I always use a lansky 5 stone system. I usually use a 25 degree angle.

Old 10-30-2014, 10:17 AM
Skilled

Freehand on the grizz with 220 followed by the lansky.. Angle depends on thickness of blade and its purpose.
~Nate
Old 10-30-2014, 10:40 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

My knife is finished but the blue tape is still on the blade. I angle my platen to whatever angle this knife needs (see Nate's comment) so that I can hold the blade straight up and still get the desired angle on the edge - its easier to guess where 'straight up' is than to try to hold, say, 20 degrees.

I use a 120 grit belt to establish the edge cutting through the tape as I go . When I have a wire edge the knife is taken to my Edge Pro (same as a Lansky, just bigger) and the edge is cleaned up and polished to the desired degree.

That's it ...

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 10-30-2014, 01:52 PM

Interesting...

I use a 400 grit belt on my 2 x 48 Multitool II.