MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Folding Knife (& Switchblade) Forum

The Folding Knife (& Switchblade) Forum The materials, techniques and the designing of folding knives.

Old 07-14-2004, 11:14 AM
Enthusiast

Blade geometry & steel recommendations for an EDC folder blade?

Hi!

A short preface: I am new to designing folders. Up to now I have only experience with fixed knives (camp knives that is) and I am quite sure to have a good understanding of what is important regarding steel choices and heat treatment against the background of the intended use of a knife.
So far I have used two rare German steels called 1.2631 (X50 CrMoW 9 1 1) and 1.2552 (80 WCrV 8) as well as Bohler Uddeholm's Vanadis 4. For a fixed knife I would use any of these steels again because they all performed extremely well 100% of time even under adverse conditions. I also have some experience with INFI, however INFI is a proprietary steel of Busse Combat and not available to the public. None of the steels I have used for my larger knives or that I have experiences with is regarded as stainless.

The Folder: I will use the folder as an EDU, I am not going to abuse the blade, it will see cutting on a daily basis, cutting mainly paper, copper wire as well as gammon or cheese during morning breaks or steaks at a BBQ. Maybe it will see some wood carving action on occasion. The blade should hold an edge quite long, I do not care about field sharpening/stropping the blade.

At present, both S30-V and BG-42 seem to be the hip steels, what are the alternatives? Are there any? Which one of the two steels is better and why is it better? What hardness (HRC) should I aim at? Recommended heat treatment to achieve a very fine grain?