MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 05-16-2013, 11:35 AM
Steel Addict

Best way to practice, practice, practice.

OK, I've been hanging around for about 8/9 months and reading everything I can on just about any phase of knifemaking and I have questions I can't find answers through searching (either there is no material or so much that it is hard to dig through).

1. What material is good to use for practice? (I am VERY tired of ruining my supply of high carbon steel)

2. What is the right way to break in a new belt? (I'm also VERY tired of ruining belts)

3. What is the best way to develop a technique for learning to grind bevels? For example, when I was a new goldsmith, soldering was my nemesis. The secret was developing the proper technique and heat control. And, all of a sudden I could solder anything.

These are a few of my beginning questions. I am trying to vastly shorten the learning curve so that I can make good knives before old age sets in. ...Teddy
Old 05-16-2013, 11:50 AM
Steel Addict

I scrounged some aluminum about .125" thick so I can practice file work and not have to use steel. I know nothing of the belts so I can't help you there.

Old 05-16-2013, 12:04 PM
Skilled

1) use mild steel
2) new belts are good because they run cooler
3) draw out how you want your bevels/plunge line on the steel with a sharpie and then work to remove all the sharpie marks.