MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-17-2003, 09:47 AM
Registered

Mill files for knife steel

I have a question about using bastard mill files for the blade material. I have talked with one knife maker who uses the files for the steel and grinds them on a belt sander. According to him the grinding process of the file lowers the hardness of the file enough so that it is no longer brittle but holds a great edge.

I am brand new at knife making and really want to use the right material. This sounds like a great way to go because of the price and availability of the steel but I want to be sure.
Old 12-17-2003, 10:52 AM
Skilled

Send a message via Yahoo to YAMAMA
I have no experience with this so I may just be speaking out my a$$ here but that is nothing new so I'll continue...

Since the files are hardened I would think you would want to soften the steel prior to working it on the belt grinder. Get you profile cut and your edge roughed in and then re-harden and temper it.

The file might be W-2 steel so you would have to research an appropriate heat treat method.

Now I will let the experts give the real advice...

Good luck on your project. Post pics when complete.
Old 12-17-2003, 10:59 AM

Location: Portal, GA - If you know where it is, you probably got a speeding ticket.
Send a message via AIM to Jamey Saunders Send a message via MSN to Jamey Saunders Send a message via Yahoo to Jamey Saunders