MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The S.R. "Steve" Johnson Forum

The S.R. "Steve" Johnson Forum Specialized knife making tips, technique and training for "ultra precision" design work enthusiasts.

Old 11-25-2002, 08:53 AM
Master

Blade thickness for knives

What thickness of blade for a knife. An example. A skinner with a blade length of 4 inches, what thickness for the blade. A bowie with a 10 inch blade, What thickness? Kitchen knive, Bird knife, chopper, etc. What are you thoughts on a given knife.

Old 11-26-2002, 01:44 PM
Steel Addict

What blade thickness?

As a newbie I don't have any answers for you Dan. But I am surely interested in seeing some responses. Come on guys, share your thoughts. Thanks. Bill.
Old 11-26-2002, 01:58 PM
Skilled

I can only say what I would use.
The skinner = 3/32-1/8"

The Bowie = 3/16-.200"

Kitchen knife = 1/16-1/8" depending on size.

Bird and Trout = 3/32-1/8" " "

Chopper = 1/8-5/32" if it was a big one. You could get away with 3/16" if it was shorter.
JMO.

Old 11-26-2002, 02:06 PM
Steel Addict

Blade thickness

Thanks Mike for the quick response! Jotted the info down for future reference. Bill.
Old 11-26-2002, 08:01 PM
Master

blade thickness

Mike. I like your respone. I sometimes start with a 1/4 inch thick steel and do a taper from the guard to the point for a chopper. 3/16 for a hunter, but for kitchen knife I use 1/8. I like to see a large taper in the blade. But it all has to do with the knifes function.

Old 11-28-2002, 10:39 AM