MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Fit & Finish

Fit & Finish Fit and Finish = the difference in "good art" and "fine art." Join in, as we discuss the fine art of finish and embellishment.

Old 06-19-2001, 08:41 AM
JohnHChris

Magic colored epoxy

I am a newbie and this was a surprise to me, but perhaps "old news" to most of you. Thought I would pass it on anyway.

About 3 weeks ago I glued cocobolo scales to a tang with 5 min epoxy (Duro brand), and wiped off the excess with a dry rag as it squeezed out. However I did not remove some epoxy traces in file work details and the scale-tang groove formed by the slightly rounded tang edges. When the glue set (to a semi-flexible but non-tacky state) it left nice and ugly clear gooby traces. Last night, using a binocular microscope I went after these bits with a dental pic sharped to a fine chisel point. To my surprise the epoxy had picked up the color of the cocobolo - not just a little bit but fully colored so that it matched the wood. I guess that the epoxy, even when set, acted as a solvent and drew pigments from the wood. The cocobolo was not stabilized, sealed or treated in any way.

This accident suggests that if you are using an oily, highly pigmented wood for knife scales, like cocobolo, you may not need to bother adding pigment to the epoxy to "hide" the glue line. The magic of chemistry and physical diffusion might just color your glue line for you. Another little benefit - it was really easy to see and remove the gooby bits from where I didn't want them.

John
Old 06-19-2001, 10:14 AM
Raymond Richard