MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 04-06-2011, 04:13 PM
Steel Addict

What do you do with your mediocre knife creations?

Here's another somewhat inane question...

What do you guys do with knives that don't turn out the way you want? Being a relative newbie I continue to make my share of mistakes while I travel along my learning curve. I therefore have a number of "learning experiences" that I've hidden away in a drawer. As knives they work just fine, they just don't measure up to my standards. Maybe the symmetry is off or the fit and finish isn't great, etc. For that reason I haven't put my makers mark on them and I'm sure not going to sell them. I guess I could just give them away. I sure don't need anymore "shop knives".

What does everyone else do with their less-than-quality work?

Jim
Old 04-06-2011, 04:30 PM
Hall of Famer

That sounds like a plan to me. That or fill up a drawer. If they're not too bad, you might consider giving them away in a KITH exchange.

Doug Lester

Old 04-06-2011, 04:36 PM
Skilled

If I can't turn a mistake into a "different than planned" knife of equal quality to what I was going for (I.E., if a partial flat grind inadvertently becomes a full flat grind) then I'll file it away into my mistakes pile as a lesson learned.

And the important thing is just that: That you learn what you did wrong or what lead to that mistake. Even if it's just plain inexperience, your at least gaining more experience with every mistake, so it shouldn't be counted as a loss.