MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Factory Knife Customization & Mid-Tech Boards > Knife Kits Forum

Knife Kits Forum New to the art of knife making? Learn to make awesome knives, using advanced hands-on training inside. From KnifeKits.com.

Old 01-17-2003, 08:49 AM

kit recommendation request

I have been making full tangs for a couple of years now and would like to try making a nice little folder. I figure I should start with a kit before I try making one from scratch. Any recommendation for an inexpansive small folder kit just to learn on.
Thanks
Steve
Old 01-17-2003, 09:57 AM

Hey Steve-

Glad to see you over here...join the party!

I wouldn't hesitate for a second to recommend the DDR II kit folder from Classic Knifekits over at knifekits.com (it's also known as the 605 Mini from Koval). Many of us began with this great little knife....many kits later it's still one of my favorites.

You can buy it with anyone of a number of different pre-drilled, roughed out scales, or you can buy the kit only and make your own from scratch (given your amount of knifemaking experience you may prefer the latter).

You'll have the mechanics of the folder figured out and put together inside of 15 minutes...the rest could take days and days depending on how complex you choose to make it...(I've got a GX6 sitting nearby on my bench that's already got 30+ hours in it between planning and execution...and I doubt I'll be finished for yet another couple of weeks ).

Have fun...I'm looking forward to seeing what you can do with these...

Warning: Once you make one of these folders it may be a long time before you revisit fixed blades...these are highly addictive...besides, try pulling a fixed blade out of your pocket and saying "Look what I just made!"

Dennis

Yeah Baby!

PS. The knifekits.com URL:
http://www.knifekits.com/kk_1mainframe.htm