MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 01-02-2008, 11:48 PM

Send a message via AIM to aczeller Send a message via Yahoo to aczeller
Stupid question from a complete newbie

Hello everyone. my name is Andrew Zeller and am completely green in the area of bladesmithing. i have always held metalworkers in high regard as i see this trade as a dying art. i am currently a welding student trying to get into the metal working/fabrication industry in just about the only way i know how. after being refered here by gentleman on another forum, i have found tons of great information on this site so far. it seems to be very informative, knowedgable, and best of all, professional.

now to my real question. i am currently trying to learn how to make a few knives for gifts to family and friends. i have the basic ideas in my head and a few sketches on paper of what i would like to create, however i am not exactly sure where to start. i know that one of them will be a tactical tanto-blade with a rope handle, another will be a hunter/skinner blade for butchering game, and a few others will be kitchen knives. my main requirement for these knives is that they keep their edge for as long as possible. the usage techniques that they will be used with do not require much, if any, flexibility, but i would like to get a mirror polish on them if possible, or possibly some sort of black-oxide type finish, particularly on the tactical knives.