MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Tool Time

Tool Time Let's talk shop. Equipment, Tips & Tricks, Safety issues - Post it here.

Old 08-12-2005, 09:36 AM
Skilled

KMG Questions...

Hello,
I have, after about 50 people told me the single most important tool to increase my quality, speed and overall knifemaking experience, decided that a KMG is in order. I should have the money after selling a few knives that are almost complete. I am trying to stay within a 1000$ budget.

Im getting the KMG with a platen, no contact wheel (no hollow grinding for me), replacing the upper platen wheel with a small 2" contact wheel. That will end up running me somewhere around 700$. After pulleys and possibly the baseplate, Im around 800$...

My dilemna is with the motor. I have zero (read: ZERO) knowledge of motors. I do not currently have the funds to make this thing a true variable speed and if I did, I would want to do it right. I don't want to half-attempt that with inferior parts and would rather upgrade motor to varibale when i had the 650$ at a later date to upgrade with the setup on the KMG site.

My question is: If I plan to use the pulleys on the KMG website to give me effectively 3 different speeds, What kind of motor should I be getting. Ima ssuming base RPMS should be around 1750? Here is what I know:

1. I have a regular volt plug constraint. This is an apartment shop and I cannot re-wire anything. So that means no 220 utility plugs or dedicated breakers....I need to be able to plug this into a standard socket.

2. I am looking for 1-1.5 hp. I have a 1 HP 2X42 right now and never lean in enough to bog it down at all. I dont hog huge amounts of steel at any time.