MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 09-10-2012, 04:12 PM

Grandfather's Knife

I'm new to knife making and was hoping that someone would be able to offer some advice on a project. My grandfather made a number of fixed blade hunting knives before he passed away a number of years ago. He was working on a knife for my dad which he was never able to complete and I recently found the knife and was hoping to be able to finish it for him. It looks to me like it needs some work but I think I have all the pieces. My question is what would be the next step? Any ideas on how the brass was to be attached to the end of the handle? I've attached some pictures and would love any help I could get.

http://i48.tinypic.com/11me1he.jpg

http://i46.tinypic.com/wj9c2p.jpg

http://i49.tinypic.com/1zud0o.jpg

http://i49.tinypic.com/1xz05s.jpg

Last edited by virginian1607; 09-11-2012 at 07:23 PM.
Old 09-10-2012, 05:26 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Simple, that's a standard through tang design, in fact it looks like a kit knife blade and guard. The brass butt cap would be threaded internally (looks like the hole is already there) with a bottoming tap of whatever size matches that tang thread. When ready for final assembly, most of us would fill the handle with glue and screw the butt cap down tightly but you can leave out the glue if you feel like you might need to take the knife apart.

Does that steel collar go all the way through the handle - is the hole in the butt cap sized to match that collar? If so, you might want to drill the hole all the way through the butt cap, slip it over the collar, and then add a new chunk of brass to thread onto the tang.