MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 01-18-2012, 02:11 PM

hello new to the forum

Just wanted to say hello and appreciate the knowledge that is shared here. I am a newbie to knife making but not to tools. I like the emphasis on striving to do better. I have always had a desire to become great at something but without a good teacher I have always gotten bored and moved on to some other new interest. I am finding after only reading a few threads very good info. thanks and look forward to learning.

James
Old 01-18-2012, 02:41 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Welcome James! And, thank you for filling out your profile. That allows knife makers in your area to know they are close by so, eventually, someone will contact you (or you them) and you'll get first hand pointers.

No matter what, we're here. The best advice I can give you if you are about to make your first knife is to keep it simple. No matter your other experience, just make a small 4" knife and worry about getting the grinding and heat treatment right. Keep it simple because you need to make it quickly so that you can use it and, eventually, probably destroy it. Then make another one using what you learned from the last one. That's how you will learn if your heat treatment and your design resulted in a real knife or just something that looks like a knife ....

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 01-18-2012, 04:16 PM