MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Damascus Forum

The Damascus Forum The art and study of Damascus steel making.

Old 01-15-2015, 04:47 PM

Question: Blade material - 12c27, 1095-

Good day all , I'll though I'm new to the blade forum world , I've been researching extensively for the past several weeks on the topic of forging blade.
forging is indeed new to me, but metal work..., I've been doing for 20yrs or so. and am looking for some guidance.

I have a vision for the look of a knife I'd like to attempt to make, and I'm in the process of narrowing down the materials I'd like to use. providing they will play well together, and this is where i require guidance at the moment.

the look of knife in the end will be stainless core of 12c27 laminated with a very fine line pattern welded "Damascus" thinking of using more 12c27 and 1095(and or 10xx lower) for this. again this is to obtain the look i want.

I'm just looking for clarification on if these steels will work together through out a differential ( hammon ) heat treat.

it seems by my research so far that they will but perhaps I missed something.

any and all welcome to reply , much appreciated!
Old 01-15-2015, 05:14 PM
Skilled

I would stay away from the 12C27. I'm not saying it couldn't be done but you'll have to can weld it. The skill level necessary to do this is beyond most. Stainless steels typically doesn't take to a fine layer count. I would suggest using L-6/1080. Getting a hammon will be difficult to impossible with the high chromium steels.
I'm sure one of the master smith's here can drop in on it.
Old 01-15-2015, 05:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccustomknives View Post