MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 06-16-2002, 03:25 PM
Registered

Hand engraving

Hi,
Apologies if this should be in the Fit and Finish forum, but as I'm a complete newbie I thought I'd better start here.
I have a little stainless steel handled folder (Spyderco Harpie) that I'd love to decorate with a little simple hand engraving, just some scroll work or something, nothing too ambitious.
I was at an arms fair a few weeks ago and one stand were selling numerous hand engraving tools, advertised for engraving shotgun locks etc, beautiful tiny chisels and hammers that had a wonderful old world charm about them they were almost displayable themselves. My Harpy has always looked a little plain and I am now tempted to embellish it and wile away the evenings tapping and buffing.
From a laymans view I would guess the knife handles aren't heat treated and would take the engraving? Is it the practice to draw a pattern onto the metal and then engrave over the pattern?
A local search has failed to find any evening classes nearby for this sort of thing, so I'm looking for an on-line source of information, or a good book. Anyone recommend a good site?
Thanks for your time.
Old 06-16-2002, 04:44 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Don Cowles
"The Art of Engraving" by James B. Meek is the best book on the suject that I have read. Read all you can before you make your first cut, and be prepared to spend some time working on brass practice plates.
Old 06-16-2002, 08:47 PM
Skilled

Hi