MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Tool Time

Tool Time Let's talk shop. Equipment, Tips & Tricks, Safety issues - Post it here.

Old 12-06-2001, 03:30 PM
JossDelage

Drill presses and bench drill presses

Hi all,

First, thanks a lot to all of you. I am definitely getting my $$$ worth out of those forums.

I am looking for some info on drill presses. Which ones are the best value? As a beginner and hobbyist, I can't really justify spending the money for a full size drill press (plus, I wouldn't know where to put it.) I agree with the whole "there are no cheap tools", etc, but I just can't spend more than $200 to $300 on that best case.

I am very interested in the small bench-top drill presses, that seem to be a good hobbyist's tool. They typically have the following characteristics:
Height: 8 to 12 inches
5 speed 620 to 3100
1/4 to 1/3 or 2/5 HP
Here are 2 examples:
- www.amazon.com/exec/obido...B0000223B1
- cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayI...1306659393

What do you think? What would people recommend?

Many thanks again,

JD
Old 12-06-2001, 03:34 PM
JossDelage

By the way, I want to be able to drill scales and tangs, but also larger size damascus billets, etc...

Thanks,

JD
Old 12-06-2001, 04:02 PM
sjaqua

This isn't exactly what you asked, but, besides budget you list the unit size as being an issue.

In terms of both size and budget, I have found an unbeatable machine for the small shop. I use a Shopsmith. In one machine, you get the a drill press, table saw, 12" disk sander, drum sander, wood lathe and horizontle borning machine. It takes up about as much space a good sized table saw. And while it's pricey, it's a whole lot cheaper then the three or four machines a bland makers shop should have.

Scott B. Jaqua
Old 12-06-2001, 04:14 PM
ATFAB