MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 08-04-2016, 11:00 PM

Hello, I'm new to smithing

Hello everyone

I've been studying stuff related to blacksmithing online for about 6 months and I'm feeling confident to practice now. In 4 months I'm gonna buy my tools so before that I'll try gathering more knowledge and hopefully you'll be able to help me. I want to craft axes and swords because I love them.
So for my first questions:

1) I've decided for a gas forge because it seems to me better for a beginner, simpler to use too. Saves time I can use to practice smithing so when I get decent I'll be able to use a coal or charcoal forge easier (if I decide to). My question is: Are there any specific gas forge details for bladesmithing? Most gas forge videos I've seen are for small, convenient forges... I wonder if a sword gas forge would have specific adaptations for swordcraft...

2) While we're at it, can you post to me pictures, videos or tutorials of really good gas forges for swords? Moneywise I'm kinda comfortable because I've been saving for a long time and a good forge seems a good, safe investment. You can post coal/charcoal forges too if you want

3) A gas forge is dangerous, regarding explosions? I've had a gas stove in the kitchen for more than 20 years and I still didn't blow up my house, but I guess always good to ask...