MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-06-2013, 08:35 PM

Question High Carbon Steel?

I am a total noob at blacksmithing/knifemaking. I bought a piece of 48'x2'x3/16' steel from Home Depot, and I am not sure if it's high carbon or just mild steel. Is there an easy way to tell, that isn't the spark test.(cause I tried and can't tell.) Any help is appreciated.
Old 12-06-2013, 08:47 PM
Steel Addict

welcome.

the steel will be mild steel, wont be any good for blade steel. I'd recommend if your starting out to get a known steel. maybe a 1075, 1080 or maybe even a O1. get it from a good suppler like New Jersey Steel Baron. Aldos great to work with and the steel is good for knives.

http://newjerseysteelbaron.com/

Erik
Old 12-06-2013, 08:58 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Ditto what Erik said. It is very important for a novice knife maker to know exactly what steel he is trying to work with and the steels he mentioned are good choices. It will be almost impossible to find real blade worthy steel at any place except either a professional steel supplier or one of the many knife supply outfits like Aldo who specialize in knife quality steel. This is not the time for you to be experimenting with unknown steel, especially not the steel you have which we know is no good for blades. Contact Aldo or look up Kelly Cupples and order some 1080 or 1084 ....

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 12-06-2013, 09:46 PM

Thanks, also where would you get something like 5160 spring steel, or cromaly steel?
Old 12-06-2013, 10:06 PM
Steel Addict