MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 11-20-2014, 12:53 AM
Registered

Where to find decent steel in Johnson City Tn. Area?

Sorry if I posted in the wrong area, but I'm a noob myself. I have been working with spikes and mower blades for about a year now. I think it's time I move forward with a greater ambition and make my first good quality knife. Problem is I can't find any good steel. I would like to find some 1075. Any one know any place around Johnson City Tn. area that supplies steel?
Old 11-20-2014, 04:29 AM
Steel Addict

I could not find anything locally since the steels used are pretty specialized. I found alphaknifesupply.com to be very reasonable and shipping cost were decent. You might search online or here in the forums for a supplier.

If you can find someone local that sure would br nice, however the local steel providers in Montana didn't carry the correct alloys.

Old 11-20-2014, 07:37 AM
Super Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Ed Caffrey Send a message via Yahoo to Ed Caffrey
In recent years "knife" steel had become a highly specialized kind of thing. Only a few who live close to a supplier have the luxury of purchasing knife steel locally.

I've been at this a long time, and have always had to "order in' the steels I use. There are only about 2-3 outfits that sell knife steels, that I will purchase from. That being said, I'm kind of different then many, when I buy steel, I buy in much larger quanitites then most. It's not uncommon for UPS to send a single truck to my place with nothing but my steel order on board.

Caffreyknives@gmail.com

"Every CHOICE has a CONSEQUENCE, and all your CONSEQUENCES are a result of your CHOICES."