MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 09-14-2007, 08:30 PM
Registered

Blade stamps...

as stated before I am quite new to this craft. I was wondering what do you folks use to mark or personalize you blades. stamps etched grind engrave whatever it is all help is appreciated. thanks again ... matty
Old 09-14-2007, 10:44 PM
Guru

I etch my mark with stencils made my IMG Electromark. I can get a very small mark with lots of detail. I don't hammer out any blades, just stock removal, so there may be less incentive for me to consider a stamp.

See my knives @ knives.caphayes.com

This quote pains me:
-- "Strategically placed blood grooves control blood spray in covert deanimation activities." --
Old 09-15-2007, 08:24 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

I think the vast majority of makers use the electromarking method that AcridSaint talked about. I know I do. Even some of the makers who forge their blades use this method rather than a stamp. And, I'd have to guess that very, very few makers who don't forge would use a stamp. So, if you plan to forge, you could consider a stamp if you wanted to but the electromarking processes offers much more flexibility, especially if you make your own stencils....

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 09-24-2007, 09:23 AM
Enthusiast

I have a custom stamp for marking, as well as a Bob Warner style home etching unit. I use both methods, depending on what I am marking.

Both methods work very well if you follow the advice of the creators and other experienced knife makers.

Etch: