MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 06-10-2012, 06:20 PM

New girl on the block:-)

Hi everyone:-)

I'm relatively new to knife making and The Knife Network has come highly recommended!

I've been learning to make knives since last November. I've come a long way but I still have tons to learn.

My fiance is a professional blacksmith so I'm VERY lucky to have access to awesome equipment, including industrial belt grinders and propane and coal forges.

To date, I have only worked with 1095 high carbon steel. My greatest challenge continues to be beveling, but at this point I can do a fairly decent flat or convex grind.

I'm also still on slab handles. One of my favorite hobbies is wood carving with hand tools, so I'm hoping to progress to tangs soon... I've been carving handles in my spare time for motivation:-)

Right now I am trying to learn more about Edge Geometry, and I am very curious what everyone thinks about the merits of different types of steel.

I'm also curious about what long-time makers found to be the hardest part of the process when they were new!

I am having a LOT of fun looking at everyone's knives:-) There is some AWESOME work on here!

-Leslie
Old 06-10-2012, 08:37 PM
Skilled

Leslie...Hello, and welcome to the forum. Always glad to welcome newcomers, and answer their questions. Of course, with having a blacksmith to answer your questions, you have a headstart on most others. It is always a good thing whenever you and your significant other have similar interests.
My only suggestion to you is that you would probably find 1080 more forgiving than 1095, but if you are having success with the 1095, I can understand your reluctance to change.