MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 04-22-2002, 09:44 AM
rooster

knifemaking

How do you know when a piece of steel you found as scrap needs to be hardened, tempered, and annealed?
Old 04-22-2002, 12:03 PM
viper5192

I am no expert, but I know a few things and I am sure folks will correct me if I am wrong. First annealing is a process where you soften the steel so you can work with it.

Makers have told me if to take a file and run it across the steel, edge wherever and it slides across without taking any steel it is already hardened that is how I know how to check.
Old 04-22-2002, 12:59 PM
ansoknives

you can do a sparktest.....trya piece of plain iron...then a piece of steel you know is good steel like a file or some bought steel...then try it on the piece you found....does it look more like the one or other...then you can heat the tip or cut a small pice of ..then heat to none magnetic and quenc in oil.....put it in a vice and break it if possible..if it snaps you have a steel worth making a knife from.

when heattreating the finished blad, heat to none magnetic and quench in hot oil.......then you need to feel your way on the annealing...start with low temp and work your way up untill you have the decired hardness.
Old 04-22-2002, 01:42 PM
primos

The best advice is to "buy" a known steel. Even if the steel you found is suitable for a knife, you will not know the chemical composition, and thus will not know the proper temperatures for annealing, hardening or tempering.

Also, you will here things like:
- Automobile leaf springs are 5160: The truth - Not always
- Large circular sawblades are L6: The truth - Not always