MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 11-01-2012, 09:12 AM
Steel Addict

Which Budget Machine?

I have started saving for a belt grinder. In the meantime I will continue to make a few knives with my hand tools, but the arthritis in my fingers is making it look like that's not going to be practical long term. From what I can find it seems that there are basically three choices in the lower end of appropriate 2x72 grinders. This would be the Grizzly, the Coote, and the Kalamazoo 2FS72. I have never used one before, and I could use some input as to which might be the better choice for the money.

The Grizzly is, in a way, the most for the money. For starters it comes with the motor already attached. It also has a buffer on the other side, although I'm not sure how practical it actually is to have your buffer attached to your grinder. Maybe someone could give some input on that issue. The Grizzly also seems to be the least versatile of the three. It is single speed and I don't know of an easy way to use a step pully setup with it.

The Coote doesn't come with a motor, so I would have to try to find a used or cheap motor for it. It also seems to involve the most assembly and modification, but seems to be fairly adaptable. I should be able to install step pulleys if I want variable speed. This also could be the cheapest option if I go with the 6" contact wheel. I don't currently have much of an interest in hollow grinding, but who knows what the future will hold. The website says it is not readily adaptable to the other wheel sizes.