MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 02-19-2007, 04:00 PM
Enthusiast

First knife/First heat treat

As a rank newbie, I practiced hollow grinding on 5 or 6 blades and decided the last one was adequate for finishing. The others are in the scrap bin! It's 1080 steel 3/16" X 1 1/2. Obviously, it's not to the level of most of the guys who post some impressive knives, so rather than embarrass myself by sending it out for heat treating I welded up a mini forge and did it myself. First one! The blade is 3 1/4 inches with a 4 inch tang. I had a hard time getting the complete blade non-magnetic. The thinner edge became non-magnetic pretty quickly, but the spine took 3 or 4 minutes longer, and a small area just above the ricasso was still slightly magnetic. With that in mind, is there a chance I got the edge too hot while trying to get the spine non-magnetic? Of course I never did get the tang non-magnetic in such a small forge. Another question - I'm using the Bernzo Matic JTH7 burner nozzle and placed it between 1/2 and 2/3 back from the forge opening based on what I've read here. The flame swirls in a whirlwind really nicely but I can only get the intense heat in the back 2/3 of the forge. That's why I had problems getting the blade hot enough back towards the tang. Should I reposition my nozzle more towards the center of the mini forge? I tested the blade with a file after I had cleaned the scale off and it won't bite anywhere along the length of the blade but will bite pretty much everywhere along the tang. The blade is in the oven at 400 degrees as I type this. Hope it turns out. It took me about 6 hours to grind it! I've got another that's nearly done (and looks much b