MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 02-26-2013, 08:50 PM
Enthusiast

New Guy Here: opinions and thoughts

Hi,

Not sure this the place, but here's a little info about myself before start rambling.

I live in Mid-Michigan. I am a volunteer firefighter in my township along with my other full time job. I am 26 and love guns, hunting, bows and the outdoors. A little video game and wife too . I may be a desk jockey today but started my life out as a certified welder.

So I've been following Dave Cantebury on his youtube channel. He made a knife out what looked like a charcoal grill type forge and a rail road spike. He kept name dropping Wayne Goddards '$50 Knife Shop'. So I bought it and read it all in about a day and half while watching some tv. Weird I know. Now I am going have to read the hardening and tempering sections again. I was chatting with a buddy about it and I think I have my bases covered. He has a old kitchen setup in his basement that the previous owner used for canning. So I can do Wayne's toaster oven esk tempering. It just so happens the said friend's step mother has a kiln for her pottery. Bam I have the hardening covered minus the magnet test and "goop" I read about in Wayne's book. I have pretty good access to used motor oil and hydraulic fluid for the goop quench give I want to have double edged blade.