MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Business of Knife Making

The Business of Knife Making A forum dedicated to all aspects of running, managing and legal operational issues relating to the custom knife making and custom knife selling industry.

Old 01-23-2013, 12:54 PM
Enthusiast

Pricing vs. exposure

There are pricing discussions for new makers all over the web, but I've got a different kind of pricing question. I've been making knives for five years. Over that time, both my quality and my price have improved. I consistently sell knives quickly, which makes me believe that they may be priced below their market potential. I have been relatively unknown, other than a website, a presence on several forums, and a couple of small shows. That's the backstory.

I was fortunate to have a knife published in Knives 2013, and have a picture/article coming out in Texas Monthly magazine in March of this year. The knife in Texas Monthly was on loan back to me from a dealer who put his price on it for the article. His price is significantly more than I usually sell that knife for. I am soon to have major exposure to new customers, with a list price greatly above my usual pricing.