MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 05-17-2016, 12:08 AM

First try at a dog star pattern

This is my second actual commissioned knife. He wanted me to try something I've never done before, so gave the dog star pattern a shot. Not sure I nailed it, but I do really like how it came out. 160 layers of 1080 and 15n20. Maple handles.

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]
Old 05-17-2016, 08:43 AM
Skilled

Good job man, did you forge the Damascus yourself?

Old 05-17-2016, 08:48 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

Nailed or not, it looks good to me. Did the customer particularly order that style of handle? I ask because it looks strange to me - a bowie style blade with a kitchen knife style handle. I know that was not uncommon 200 years ago but modern handle styles have been more sculpted in the last 50 years or so ....

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 05-17-2016, 08:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter10139 View Post
Good job man, did you forge the Damascus yourself?
Yes I did. I got in to knife making for my simple love of pattern welded/damascus blades. Still learning, but making progress, I think.
Old 05-17-2016, 09:14 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Rogers View Post
Nailed or not, it looks good to me. Did the customer particularly order that style of handle? I ask because it looks strange to me - a bowie style blade with a kitchen knife style handle. I know that was not uncommon 200 years ago but modern handle styles have been more sculpted in the last 50 years or so ....