MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 05-23-2014, 05:27 PM

Talking Newbie here!

Hi everyone! I am Josh and I am new to making knives. I have been a woodturner for many years and in the last month I've been reading and learning everything I can about knives. I just needed one more reason to be in the shop lol I know that I would like to start doing stock removal using 440c stainless and / or O1 tool steel for my knives. I am in the middle of building my belt grinder ( 2 x 72 ) and I would like advice on the types of belts I should use for the steel I will be using. I also would like advice on where to get a good deal on the steel I am planning to use and where to send the blanks for heat treating (soon I will be building my kiln to do my own heat treating). I've done a lot of research and I've found most of the info I am asking for but it has been my experience that after the initial research is always a good idea to ask experienced people. I am happy to be here and I look forward to learn a lot from all of you!

Josh
Old 05-23-2014, 06:11 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Welcome to our forums Josh!

You can get 440C in small quantities from most any knife supply place like Jantz or K&G Finishing or usaknifemakers.com O1 is sold by some of those places but also by any tool supplier like MSC. Since you will need to send out your first blades I suggest you stay with the 440C as getting a carbon steel processed can be more of a chore than a stainless one. Send the 440C blade to Texas Knifemakers, they will process it for around $10 and they also offer cryo.