MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Folding Knife (& Switchblade) Forum

The Folding Knife (& Switchblade) Forum The materials, techniques and the designing of folding knives.

Old 12-19-2000, 09:48 PM
eadus

folders

G'day,
Alex has put it on me to moderate this forum and I'm not sure how to start. Perhaps if I kick it off with a bit about me:
I've been making folders for aproximately 10 years, mainly lock-backs although I do make a few spring-backs. I got started by becoming bored with making straight blades (although I still make them) and saw folders as more of a challenge. My first folder was built via the telephone with my mentor and it worked (I must have done something right). Soon after the book "how to make folding knives" came on the market which made it a little easier.
Over the years I've developed some styles that I'm happy with although I continue to refine them and develop new ones. At present I developing a design for an auto that hopefully is slim and relatively easy to make, it's still at the drawing board stage.
I'm only too happy to answer any questions about springbacks, lockbacks interframe etc.

Old 12-19-2000, 10:26 PM
Terry Hearn

Neil, glad to see you here...

Old 12-19-2000, 11:07 PM
eadus

Hey,
This is frightening stuff, I can just see all those knockers out there waiting you me to open my big mouth and put my put in it.
However I believe that there are guys out there that (a) would love to start making folders and (b) been making them for years and would just LOVE to share their experience with us.

Old 12-20-2000, 01:08 AM
thrjejiv

Neil,
It's nice to have you as a moderator. I'm very interested in making folding knives but I'm going to try my hand at it before I start asking questions.