MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 04-03-2002, 08:12 PM
winstonknives

CAD Program

Is anyone here using a CAD program for folder design?
Or maybe suggest a good economical program. Maybe "good" and "economical" can not be used in the same sentence. Anyway I would like some suggestions if anyone has any. Thanks.
Old 04-03-2002, 10:06 PM
Shotgunone

I have used a program called delta cad. I is a pretty simple 2 d cad program. I'm no expert but I like it and it does what I want.

I use it on folders to design and refine my hand drawings. I.E. put pivots in the right place. See how the knife folds (you can step move the blade through the folding cycle). Resize and shape blades, handles etc. You can even rescale your drawing size with it. I haven't had any experience with other programs so I can't compare.

You can download a fully function version as a demo at www.dcad.com. I think it is good for a month or two. Also order it from there too.
Old 04-04-2002, 11:35 AM
Troop9242

Tony-
Is it possible to import your drawings from the scanner into the program? I've drawn up my folders and would like to start with the rough drawings instead of beginning from scratch.
James
Old 04-04-2002, 05:20 PM
Shotgunone

Yes.

That's what I do. I pencil draw or design my knives and scan them into my computer as bmp files. Then import the bmp into the CAD program and draw my lines right over the bmp picture. Then you can move the CAD lines off the picture and edit them as you want. It has really helped me reduce grinding up steel. I can make it work on paper first and then print out the paper for a template.

Old 04-04-2002, 06:22 PM
Troop9242