MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 11-06-2005, 05:09 PM
Skilled

DIY Heat treat oven

Guys,
I've been looking for a used HT oven for about 6 month now. No luck so far.
I am ready to spend about $500. In last 6 month only one small oven came up on Craigslist and got sold quickly before I got a chance to buy it.

I want oven with an electronic controller so I can do stainless too.
Is there any plans available for such thing? I've seen a couple of DIY ovens that I can build myself but they are not very specific about electronic part. Is there any controller/termocouple/coil sets that are plug-and-play? I have no knowledge of electronics and installation must be straight forward.

Any suggestions appreciated.
Thanks,
Alex

Last edited by alexkuzn; 11-06-2005 at 05:54 PM.
Old 11-06-2005, 07:21 PM
Living Legend

I was down at a local ceramics supply store and they had a real nice one for $900. It was all digital and it looked like it could hold a 13" blade. I have priced digital controls for a pyrometer and they are all around $300-350. If you went to a ceramics store they could fix you up with the refractory brick/tile and nichrome wire for the heat elements. For $500 I would bet that you could build one, they would probably even have a how to book there.
Old 11-09-2005, 01:13 AM
Skilled

Give Tim Zowada a call. He sells them and has the best price around.

http://www.tzknives.com/kf135.html
Old 11-09-2005, 01:44 PM
Steel Addict

There is a good tutorial for building an oven here. http://www.knifenetwork.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=24327

Old 11-09-2005, 02:13 PM
Skilled