MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 04-16-2004, 12:57 AM
Steel Addict

Maybe I'm strange..

You know this is kinda a personal problem I have and maybe I'm just strange.

I have been making knives for about 2 yrs now. I have never posted one knife here on the forum.(besides my very first and it sucked badly)

Matter of fact.. outside my immediate friends and family. Nobody has ever really seen any of them.

The problem is... how do I know they are good enough to sell.

I am scared to show them..especially to knife makers and such experts because I know they will be comparing them to knives that are obviously better.
I see the knives being posted in the display case and know that most of my knives don't hold a candle to those.

I don't have money to make them out of expensive metal or exotic materials. I work mostly with 1095 steel and wood handles... some brass guards and bolsters. I realize that there isn't much of a market for my type of knives... the custom knife market seems to belong to those that make knives that are stainless or damascus steel, with fancy bolsters, and exotic stag/bone/horn/etc.. handles.

In EVERY knife I make I see small problems.. I have yet to make one that didn't have something about it I don't like. Either the grind line isn't great..or the finish didn't come out perfect. Or the handle isn't exactly what I wanted... something.

My friends that have seen my knives think they are great... but they wouldn't know a great knife from a production knife out of Pakistan.