MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 06-17-2003, 05:12 PM

Tools - Novice starting from scratch

I am a complete novice but would like to try my hand at making a basic fixed blade knife or two. I will be building a small 12' & 8' work shop shortly and hope to have it up and working by the end of the summer. In the mean time, I intend acquiring my tools so the purchases are spread over a period. I have done some searches on this and other similar sites and have a rough idea what I need and I have also ordered Goddards
"$50knife shop" as a primer....

I have found a source of decent engineering files but I am a bit
bewildered by the sheer range of sizes/types that are available.

So my question is what sizes should I get first? I was thinking some basic flat files, but do get say 10" and just stick with those??? Or would I be better getting 12" or even 14", and then adding a set of 6" or 8" later???

What other tools will I require? I have a dremel already and I want a small bench drill as well, but I am not sure what size/power is sufficient?? I have seen a good deal on a Sealy but I don't know their reputation as a brand??

Regards,

Pete
Old 06-17-2003, 06:03 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

It really depends on what you plan to do with the files and how large the knives are that you plan to make. For me, a few chainsaw files, a small triangular file, and a cheap set of needle files are all I need.

If you plan to grind your bevels by hand with a file, you'll need a large, coarse file that removes steel quickly. But, if you have a belt grinder and you want files for fitting a guard, then needle files will probably do....
Old 06-17-2003, 06:15 PM
Steel Addict