MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 08-31-2006, 08:09 PM

Jantz supply blades?

Hello everyone, a newbie here. I am in the process of doing research into making my own knife (knives...), and by the amount of content on knifenetwork.com, it looks like I might of hit a goldmine.

I am looking for a blade that I can use for general hunting, mostly for deer. I do not do any skinning, and I don't really plan on it either. I need a general field dressing knife, but I WANT something thats a little different, and with maybe a bit of class, that will do the job. So I have been searching, and have found a few blades at Jantz Supply.

They are listed under the Damascus Seven, and are described as 'bird blades'. A couple are listed with 3 & 3.5 inch blades, which I feel would be fine for what I am going to be using it for. Question I have is has anyone had any experience with these blades, and Jantz for that matter, and are they worth making into a knife? And maybe a more important question will be are the 3" or so blades be adequate for my needs? I have use a very cheap folder in the past, with a 4" blade, and it has done everything I have needed it to do.

Another option I have found on Jantz is called the 'Boomerang'. Its a much larger damascus blade, but I like the looks of the smaller blades.

Suggestions, criticism, opinions, and anything else is all greatly appreciated.

If anyone is interested in pistols and pistol hunting, check out
http://specialtypistols.infopop.cc/groupee.

A Smith
movsouth@verizon.net
Old 08-31-2006, 08:18 PM
Master