MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum

The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum This is the place to discuss all forms of sheath and holster making.

Old 11-09-2008, 08:13 PM
Steel Addict

Question When to wet form??? (with pics)

I am trying my hand for the first time at making a sheath for my kit knife. I cut out the leather and the spacer piece (forgot term) that goes along the edge to be sewed. Should I sew it first or wet form it first? I seen it done both ways and was curious as to which is preferred.
Thanks Chris
I don't really have any leather tools yet, the bent razor blade in the pic is my skive.

Last edited by cwiehle0; 11-10-2008 at 07:51 AM.
Old 11-10-2008, 01:14 PM
Steel Addict

Anyone??? Is this forum a dead zone?
Old 11-10-2008, 01:19 PM

I'm a newbie at this myself but I usually sew last. I do a casing of the leather first, then fit the welt to the blade.
Old 11-10-2008, 01:35 PM
Steel Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwiehle0
Anyone??? Is this forum a dead zone?
We're all volunteers. For $50/hr I'll hop to it.

Old 11-10-2008, 01:44 PM
Steel Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete494
I'm a newbie at this myself but I usually sew last. I do a casing of the leather first, then fit the welt to the blade.
I'm an oldbie (27 years of sheaths) and also sew last too. It's the only way the welt can be made a perfect fit to the blade (in my opinion anyway).
This is the order I do 'em - cut out, dye, make welt 1/4" wider than the original paper pattern, soak sheath body, fold, mould, let dry, insert knife, snug welt up to it, mark welt with pen so it can be re-inserted again, remove knife, glue one side of welt and sheath, apply welt to pen lines, glue other side of welt and sheath, stick, trim all three thicknesses with knife, grind, sand, polish.