MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Heat Treating and Metallurgy

Heat Treating and Metallurgy Discussion of heat treatment and metallurgy in knife making.

Old 06-27-2010, 03:37 PM
Enthusiast

Starting out

Hey there. I'm just starting out with REALLY making knives. Getting a grinder real soon as apposed to constructing them from kits which I've made a few. I don't want to get into heat treating and hardening right now. Just trying to learn what I need to learn to get a half way decent blade. Where do people send knives for this service?

Michael

What.... just take some metal, grind away anything that does not look like a knife and there you are. Whats the problem now?
Old 06-27-2010, 09:19 PM
Skilled

Michael...Glad to have you on board.
I have to admit to never having assembled a kit knife. However, to me, it's sort of like putting a puzzle together, and then claiming that you had painted the picture yourself.
To me, the important thing about knifemaking is the creativity, and in making something that is truely yours...from start to finish.
It is for this reason that I would encourage you to attempt your own hardening and heat treating yourself. If you restrict your efforts to working with the simple 1080 type steels, the hardening/tempering, AKA heat treating, is something that is easy, rewarding, and requires no special equipment to do. There are plenty of "instructions" on this forum as to how to do it, so I'm not even going there for now, but you really should give it a try.
The self confidence that comes from heat treating your own blade is hard to get any other way, and what you will learn during the process is absolutely invaluable.
I'm not saying that there won't be setbacks, but this is something you can do for yourself.