MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 09-29-2011, 03:56 PM
Enthusiast

Do I really need to heat my quenchant past room temp?

Ok, so I am using parks#50 to quench my 1095 in. Do I really need to heat it up from room temp before I quench the knife? The literature that came with the oil from parks mentioned it was ok to use at room temp, but I just read on another forum that if it is not heated some form of vapor jacket is formed around the knife being quenched giving undesirable results. I have been quenching at room temp (75-80 degrees) and it seems to me that the knife if ok, but, I am new at all of this so I am unsure. Thanks for the help!!!
Old 09-29-2011, 04:23 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Most oils work better at 125 - 150 F but I've used them at room temp (much less than your temp) and seemed to work OK. The problem with subjective judging of 1095 is that almost anything you do to it will seem like it worked. My first 1095 blade was heat treated over a hole in the ground filled with 40 pounds of Kingsford charcoal and it seemed to work. Then, a bunch of years later I put that blade under a Rockwell tester and found it was in the mid-40's. You probably did better but the point is that 1095 can fool you pretty easily. It's best to use the oils as specified and most recommend warming up before use ....

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 09-29-2011, 04:55 PM
Skilled