MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 04-14-2009, 11:01 AM
Steel Addict

In what order?

I see this question often asked in vaying degrees?
I am new to the knife bussines too and am just playing with switching from reduction method to forging. So far I have been using the steel of a two man saw to make blades,, which really hasn't required a heat treatment and such, to turn out an average knife, that will hold an edge fairly well. But I am now ready to stepup to the next level in my knifemaking.

So here is what I am proposing that some one with a lot more knowledge than me explain the steps in the knifemaking process. I know some of you just said, "what a dumb a$$ , but on the other hand there is a bunch who just turned up the volume"!!!They just don't want to admit it it.
I heard someone on one of the forums make a statement that I know was totaly wrong and no one corrected his process. Some of us don't have the chance to learn from someone else's mentoring, we are just stumbling are way through it! Some will make and some won't but throw us a bone now and then and tell us where we are misinformed!

Lets say you just annealed you metal if necessary, and have shaped your blade by reduction or you just finished forging, that kind of puts both processes on an even keal.

The next step is the heat for the quench. Which I understand varies according to the metal you are working with, as for heat and type of quench.