MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 12-04-2003, 01:14 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Half ton Arbor Press Comparison

I have been using a Grizzly half ton arbor press for about 10 years. This week, I ordered two additional half ton arbor presses from Enco and I thought there were a few differences worth noting here.

First off let me say that either press seems more than capable of doing the basic job that you would expect from a small press like these. There are some differences between them though. Some of those differences will matter to some people and not to others.

First off, the ram on the Grizzly is stouter than on the Enco. The Grizzly's ram is 7/8 " square while the Enco ram is 3/4" square. Not a lot, but there you are.

The Grizzly ram has a hole in one end to accept tools like snap setters, blade straightening tools, and forming dies. You would need to drill and tap for a set screw in the Enco ram if you wanted this feature.

As you can see from the picture, the anvils that come with the presses are slightly different. The Enco anvil has 4 slots but 3 of them are the same size. Different sized slots are useful for selecting support under the work piece. The Grizzly has 3 slots, all different sizes, and a large work area which I find very useful.